BPLD Facebook Page GoodReads Instagram Pinterest Tweet BPLD Tube Mobile App

Bartlett Public Library District, 800 South Bartlett Road, Bartlett, IL 60103

Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction


In 1982 Scott O’Dell established the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction. The annual award of $5,000 goes to an author for a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults. It is Scott O’Dell’s hope to increase the interest of young readers in the historical background that has helped to shape their country and their world.


Full of Beans by Jennifer Holm

The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schlitz

Dash by Kirby
Bo at Ballard Breek by Kirkpatrick Hill
Chickadee by Louise Erdrich
Dead End In Norvelt by Jack Gantos
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
The Storm in the Barn by Matt Phelan
Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson
Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
The Green Glass Sea by Ellen Klages
The Game of Silence by Louise Erdrich
Worth by A. LaFaye
The River Between Us by Richard Peck
Trouble Don’t Last by Shelley Pearsall
The Land by Mildred D. Taylor
Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule by Harriette Robinette
Out of the Dust, by Karen Hesse
Jip, His Story, by Katherine Paterson
Under the Blood-Red Sun Graham Salisbury
Bull Run by Paul Fleischman
Morning Girl by Michael Dorris
Stepping on Cracks by Mary Downing Hahn
Charley Skedaddle by Patricia Beatty
Streams to the River, River to the Sea by Scott O’Dell
Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
The Fighting Ground by Avi
The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Spear


Bartlett Public Library District
800 S. Bartlett Road
Bartlett, IL 60103
Main: 630.837.2855
Adult: 630.837.3560
Youth & Teen: 630.837.3348
Monday-Thursday: 9am - 9pm
Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday: 9am - 5pm
Sunday: 12pm - 5pm